Why are people so ignorant????

1374330_10202203953329085_1787691924_n

Last week I had a conversation with an associate that enraged me!!!
After the conversation, I did something totally out of character. I decided to hit Facebook to vent and release my frustrations.
My post:

“For the past twenty plus years, I have been constantly told that I must be doing something wrong when it comes to my health. Many times I would brush off ignorance gracefully and other times I just downright ignore people. I promise, I try my best to hold my peace and let God fight my battles. Sorry but, today’s not one of those days.
Here is an ignorant comment I got today: “My cousin got sickle cell and ain’t in the hospital as much as you are…”
“Well Congratulations!”
Do you know what type of sickle cell you “cousin” has? —- No Answer
Is it the trait?
Is it SS Hemoglobin?
Is it SC Hemoglobin?
Is it sickle cell w/Thalassemia?
Has your “cousin” ever had acute chest syndrome?
NO ANSWER!!!!!
Please believe me when I say that I have tried everything in my power to live a long and fruitful life. (I am still here!!!) While I am waiting on God to heal me, I am taking cancer meds that makes my hair fall out.
Drinking 90 for life /Tangy Tangerine and different immunity concoctions. I exercise, I have had every treatment except for a risky bone marrow transplant. Even helping researchers find a cure by signing up for several sickle cell studies in the city of Boston.
ANNNNNNDDDDD on top of that I know other sicklers who are in the hospital at least 3-4 times a month.
My people, please do me a favor, do your research before you approach me with mess! Just SHHHHHHHH! Let Daddy God do His thing. HE WILL HEAL ME cause I am His daughter.”

Looking back, I am NOT sorry for writing this post. Individuals were educated, many were enlighten, and some people just learned to shut their mouth. It is bad enough that sickle cell patients must deal with the disease, we also must endure ignorance. Sometimes, this is worse than the physical pain that we endure.

Leave a Reply

